Share your research and experience, ask and answer questions, meet your peers.

Scientific Excellence and Innovation in Sweetpotato Award – Best Sweetpotato Scientific Paper – 2017 edition

Through a generous endowment established by Dr. Jan W. Low, every year the best sweetpotato scientific paper published during the year before will receive an award consisting of US$500, which will be presented to the lead author.  The award is intended to be split among the co-authors.

The main criteria to assess submitted papers will be the originality, degree of innovation and potential impact of the research being published. Other factors are impact factor of the journal, age of the lead author (to encourage young scientists to publish), number of readings as assessed through Research Gate, number of downloads as assessed through Research Gate, number of citations as assessed through Research Gate, and collaboration with other institutions, assessed through the number of coauthors from different National Research Systems (NARS) or Advanced Research Institutions (ARIs).  You do not have to be a CIP scientist to be eligible, just linked through the Sweetpotato for Profit and Health Initiative (SPHI) or any other program aimed at improving sweetpotato in developing countries.

It is kindly requested that all submitting authors are registered (free of charge) at Research Gate before applying.

Please submit a PDF file of your paper by email to the chair of the committee, Dr. Hugo Campos, at and a cover letter stating the official citation of where the article was published, and the name, age, sex, position, institution, mailing address, email address and contact phone number of each co-author.  If the award is not to be split equally among the co-authors, the percentage going to each (based on contribution) should be specified.  The paper should have been published between January 2016 and December 2016 to qualify for consideration.  Only published papers will be considered. Note that papers with Dr. Jan W. Low as lead author will not be considered, but those having her as a non-lead author can be considered.

The deadline to receive applications is July 30th, 2017. The winner will be announced during the SPHI meeting, to be held in September 2017.

The team responsible for selecting the best sweetpotato paper consists of Dr. Merideth Bonierbale (CIP), Dr. Guy Hareau (CIP), Dr. Roberto Quiroz (CIP), and Dr. Hugo Campos (CIP).

About Christine Bukania


  1. I am interested in your research on varieties if potatoes. In fact l’m very knee to know if there has been a research on sweet potatoes from west africa. I would luke to see the outcome including it’s nutritional vakue and health benefit on consumption. I would appreciate to hear from you.

Leave a Reply