Share your research and experience, ask and answer questions, meet your peers.

Dr. Akinwumi Adesina of Nigeria awarded the World Food Prize 2017

It is hard to believe that one year has gone by since the ceremony awarding the 2016 World Food Prize to three CIP sweetpotato scientists, Jan Low, Maria Andrade, and Robert Mwanga and Howdy Bouis of HarvestPlus.

The 2016 World Food Prize co-Laureates during the 2016 award ceremony

On the 19th of October, the mantle passed to the 2017 World Food Prize Laureate, Dr. Akin Adesina, currently serving as President of the African Development Bank and former Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development of Nigeria and Vice-President of the Alliance for a Green Revolution.  The ceremony this year was a lot of fun, with singers and drummers from Nigeria getting former President Obasanjo and Akin dancing.

2017 World Food Prize Winner Dr. Akinwumi Adesina at the Iowa State Capitol Building in Des Moines during the award ceremony

Dr. Akin Adesina is an agricultural economist by training (Purdue University, his alma mater was well represented and acknowledged).  He is also a strong supporter of nutrition, including biofortification, consistently making the case that stunted children today lead to stunted economies tomorrow.  He specifically mentioned a commitment to get orange-fleshed sweetpotato processing moving in SSA in his luncheon speech made at the Borlaug Dialogue the day after the ceremony.


Read more about Dr Adesina here

About Lilies Gachanja

Leave a Reply