Share your research and experience, ask and answer questions, meet your peers.

Best Sweetpotato Scientific Paper Competition

Through a generous endowment established by Dr. Jan W. Low, CIP offers an annual $500 award for the Best Sweetpotato Scientific Paper published during the previous year. The award is presented to the lead author of the publication and intended to be split among the co-authors.

Authors may be CIP scientists or any CIP staff linked to a CIP or non-CIP project/program aimed at improving sweetpotato in low or middle income countries.

To participate in this competition, please submit a PDF file of your paper by email to Lilia Salinas @ , and a cover letter addressed to Dr. Jan Kreuze, Chair of the Selection Committee, stating the official citation of where the article was published, and the name, age, sex, position, institution, mailing address, email address and contact phone number of each co-author. If the award is not to be split equally among the co-authors, the percentage going to each author (based on contribution) should be specified in the cover letter.

Eligible papers will have been published between January and November 15, 2021 to qualify for consideration. Only published papers will be considered. Note that papers with Dr. Jan W. Low as lead author will not be considered, but those having her as a non-lead author may be considered.

The deadline to receive applications is 15 November 2021. The winner will be announced in December.

Papers will be assessed on the following criteria:

Quality of writing and analysis
Degree of innovation and potential impact of the research
Impact factor of the journal
Age of lead author (to encourage young scientists to publish)
Number of readings, downloads and citations (assessed via Research Gate)
Collaboration with other institutions
Number of co-authors included from national research institutions (e.g., NARS) or advanced research institutions (ARIs).

It is kindly requested (and encouraged) that all submitting authors register with Research Gate (free of charge) before applying.

The 2021 sweetpotato paper competition evaluation team consists of Drs. Jan Kreuze, Margaret McEwan, Norma Manrique and Marcel Gatto.

About Bernice Wairimu