Share your research and experience, ask and answer questions, meet your peers.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Scientific Excellence and Innovation in Sweetpotato Award – Best Sweetpotato Scientific Paper – 2018 Edition

May 21, 2018 - July 30, 2018

Through a generous endowment established by Dr. Jan W. Low, every year the best sweetpotato scientific paper published during the year before will receive an award consisting of US$500, which will be presented to the lead author.  The award is intended to be split among the co-authors.

Ernest Baafi winner of Best Scientific Paper 2017

The main criteria to assess submitted papers will be the quality of the writing and analysis, degree of innovation and potential impact of the research being published. Other factors are impact factor of the journal, age of the lead author (to encourage young scientists to publish), number of readings as assessed through Research Gate, number of downloads as assessed through Research Gate, number of citations as assessed through Research Gate, and collaboration with other institutions, assessed through the number of co-authors from different National Research Systems (NARS) or Advanced Research Institutions (ARIs).  You do not have to be a CIP scientist to be eligible, just linked through the Sweetpotato for Profit and Health Initiative (SPHI) or any other program aimed at improving sweetpotato in developing countries.

It is kindly requested that all submitting authors are registered (free of charge) at Research Gate before applying.

Please submit a PDF file of your paper by email to the chair of the committee, Dr. Hugo Campos, at and a cover letter stating the official citation of where the article was published, and the name, age, sex, position, institution, mailing address, email address and contact phone number of each co-author.  If the award is not to be split equally among the co-authors, the percentage going to each (based on contribution) should be specified.  The paper should have been published between January 2017 and December 2017 to qualify for consideration.  Only published papers will be considered. Note that papers with Dr. Jan W. Low as lead author will not be considered, but those having her as a non-lead author can be considered.

The deadline to receive applications is July 30th, 2018. The winner will be announced during the SPHI meeting, to be held 24-27 September 2018.  Costs for the winner to attend the SPHI meeting will be covered and the winner will present the winning paper in a plenary session.

The team responsible for selecting the best sweetpotato paper consists of Dr. Oscar Ortiz (CIP), Dr. Guy Hareau (CIP), Dr. Jan Kreuze (CIP), and Dr. Hugo Campos (CIP).


May 21, 2018
July 30, 2018
Event Category: